Types of GS1 BarCodes
Get Registered
Home > Standards > GS1 BarCodes > Types of GS1 BarCodes

Types of GS1 BarCodes

  • Email
  • Print this page
  • Addthis

Different barcode applications have different data requirements depending on their usage. To meet such diverse requirements, GS1 provides standards for use with the different bar code symbols. For example, a 13-digit GS1 code is commonly used with consumer goods whereas a "2D Matrix" symbol is increasingly becoming the symbol of choice in the healthcare sector.

Based on the symbol used to encode data, GS1 barcodes can be categorized into two broad categories:

a) GS1 barcodes with linear/1D symbols which include:

  • GS1 DataBar
  • GS1-128
  • ITF-14

b) GS1 BarCodes with 2D symbols which include:

  • GS1 DataMatrix (‘2D matrix’ symbol)
  • GS1 composite component (‘2D linear’ symbol - It is called a composite component because it is only used with a linear barcode like GS1-128 or GS1 DataBar).

Find more about GS1 BarCode types